Embracing Receiving

Earlier this year, three people recommended my book to Rev. Michelle Medrano, the minister of New Vision Center for Spiritual Living in Phoenix, Arizona.  The third person sent her a copy, which got her attention!

I was and am very honored that after reading The Power of Receiving, she decided to devote her sermons in June to my book. And I was thrilled that once she heard that I lived in the area, she asked if I would guest-speak for her on Father’s Day, June 19th.

You can view my talk below — it’s in two parts – or go to my YouTube The Power of Receiving Channel where you can also view more Power of Receiving videos.

I hope my ideas about embracing receiving are helpful to you. Feel free to leave a comment and let me know!

4 thoughts on “Embracing Receiving

  1. Watched both parts, loved your talk, and wow, you said so many important things in such a short presentation. Your observation about receiving and how it’s been typically (and wrongly) connected to one’s to self esteem is so true… that we need to get our sense of “deserving” out of the picture. You make me think about how that is a serious distortion, some kind of dominant-subordinate cultural baggage, having nothing to do with the harmonious, in-balance, ebb and flow of true giving and receiving. Also really agree about the idea of making yourself attractive to your goal–making our goals want to chase us!

  2. Thanks so much Victoria for your comment. Yes, this link between self-worth and receiving is insidious, isn’t it? A cultural message for sure. Unfortunately, so many people refuse to receive the things they most want to have. Partly this is because they feel unworthy to receive but also many people feely it is unseemly at best and selfish at worst to express their desires. My goal is to help people understand that receiving is as natural as giving; when we refuse to receive, we are stopping the flow and separating the Giver from the Receiver, which is a very un-natural state!

    • Hi Amanda,
      I just wanted to write and thank you for your article on receiving, as the universe has so much to offer us only if we believe that we are worthy of receiving. I am new to you website, but from I can read already, you are a special gift to all of us. So thank so much for sharing yourself we us.
      God Bless,

      Love & Laughter
      Irene

      • Thank you Irene for your comment. I appreciate it! If you’d like, check out my post on receiving and self-esteem. I write about separating our feelings of self-worth from receiving. I also speak about this topic in my video recording from my talk at New Vision Center for Spiritual Living. I’ve thought a lot about how many of us have learned to tie these two together and how doing so prevents us from receiving the best of what life has to offer.

Leave a Reply

