What Do You Want?

What do you want?

I had forgotten how much is involved in a book launch! Writing a book is such a quiet experience. Now I am arranging events, book signings, interviews, and workshops and will soon be out in the world talking about the ideas in “Born to Receive.” (My events page on my website has my full schedule. I am adding to it almost every day now.)

This morning I am thinking about when I knew I wanted to write this book, which was in the beginning of 2012.

One of the chapters is called “Know What You Want.” A Goodreads reader won a review copy of “Born to Receive,” and wrote the following about this chapter:

“Got this as a Goodreads giveaway. I liked it, but still processing it and will write a full review shortly! Here are my thoughts so far, though: This was a quick read, but one that I will probably read again within the month.

The part I liked most was about asking for what you want. I think I definitely fall into that category in relationships where I put everyone else’s needs/wants in front of mine to the point where I usually can’t even identify what I want because my default answer is always “Whatever makes you happy.”

I really loved some of the insights I got from this book – I’m not indecisive, I just try so hard to please others that I’m totally out of touch with what I want most of the time. After reading this, I been able to notice it a lot more lately; I’ll be in a situation I don’t want to be in but won’t make my desires, needs, or wants known and instead just “suffer” because it’s making someone else happy and I don’t want to interrupt with that. I think that part hit me pretty hard and hence as re-read is needed to leave a review on the rest of the book.”

Many of us, for a variety of reasons, do not think about the power of wanting or the consequences of squashing our desires. The following is from the “Know What You Want” chapter:

“Wanting is a receptive power. Once you know what you want, you keep the energy moving by asking for it. Receiving the results of what you asked for is receptive. Doing something with those results is active. This is the circle of life. When you want without asking, you are interrupting this natural cycle.”

Leave a Reply

